See it Through

“You’ve got to see it through.”

We say it jokingly and, in the right context, it’s hilarious. It seems though that I exceeded the limits of the joke.

I acknowledge that my ability to see a project through to completion is useful. When it comes to my job or personal goals, it’s great to have the confidence in myself to get things done even when it’s difficult. Not all skills need to be infinitely transferable though.

I like to see things through. I prefer to give people and situations what could be objectively considered a fair shot and I come in ready for the long haul. I have on multiple occasions extended those fair shots even when there was no evidence of necessary improvement or change (much less a desire for that from anyone other than me). From now on, it’s time to ensure that “fair shot” is weighted much more toward actions and evidence over words.

I look back to those moments and see myself being so busy or stressed or distracted that I let madness play on in the background. I remained in partnerships that should never have made it to or past the first milestone. I stayed committed and determined in situations at the cost of my own peace. Of course, in between all this I’ve learned valuable lessons and life has introduced me to great people and opportunities. I’m thankful and all that, but from now on? HA. Bye. Not it. I’m out.

Moving forward, I’m going to skip the sacrificial part of the story that far too many women drift into. I’ll be open to the dynamic and complex nature of life and how we all respond to it, but I’ll also accept what people and situations reveal themselves to be and act accordingly. So, for now and future, I’ll see when it’s through.

Header Photo: https://sarafreed.com/relationship-advice/marriage-coach-tension-self-fulfillment-self-sacrifice/

Leave a comment